Is It Okay If I Pat My Cat?

photo

 

There’s a fine line between self-discipline and being tyrannical when you’re your own boss. At least it is for me.

You see, I was the kid in class who asked for a hall pass to the bathroom and never came back. I had good intentions of returning but there was always something that distracted me.

Little did I know that this is how I would live my life; starting things only to take a break and get distracted by something new, never to return.

Knowing that I’m a squirmy kid that isn’t good at her word, I try to finish projects before taking a break. I tried to explain this to my cat but he didn’t understand.

His reply is always, “How can you do something like write a book without taking a break? It can’t be done.”

Or can it?

The answer came to me while listening to an author speak at an event. He said playing was all part of the writing process. He said that fun and games were a series of actions that would help stimulate bringing pen to paper.

In other words patting my cat wasn’t leaving my book project, it was part of it.

This was music to my ears and my kitty’s ears too.

I immediately went home and fired the tyrant whose been supervising my writing, and replaced her with a more fun loving friend.

But that tyrant still pops her head in when I’m not paying attention. I know she’s there when writing becomes a chore and I’m asking for a hall pass to get away.

Unfortunately, keeping the tyrant in check is also part of the writing process.

The next time she comes around I think I will pat my cat to annoy her.

Image

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jamieweilhealthcoach
    Mar 10, 2014 @ 10:42:28

    HaHa. Little Lorlinda out on an adventure with her hall pass. Love that image! Hugs! Jamie

    Reply

    • lorlinda
      Mar 10, 2014 @ 17:04:59

      Thank you Jamie. It’s funny, I had a friend named Jamie in high school and we had plenty of adventures together with our hall pass. (LOL) Sort of like our little hall pass we’ve got going here. 🙂 Lots of hugs back at ya, Lorlinda

      Reply

  2. Professions for PEACE
    Feb 16, 2014 @ 19:30:20

    What a fun read! And helpful too. How awesome that we can contemplate the concept of firing the inner tyrant who insists everything be ‘work, work, work’! Yes, like the speaker shared, ‘fun and games’ and playing are part of the process. What a relief! And your gorgeous black cat is pretty happy about that too, I’m sure!
    Thanks so much for sharing this, Lorlinda. Hugs xo Gina

    Reply

    • lorlinda
      Feb 17, 2014 @ 10:30:03

      Hi Gina,
      Thank you for visiting my blog. Besides the tyrant I have a lot of inner bullies that I need to keep in check (the inner critic, the inner pessimist, the inner control freak just to name a few). So, thank goodness for my inner comedian, my inner cheerleader and my inner free spirit. Otherwise, who knows what would happen to me. LOL.
      Cyber hugs and love back at ya, Lorlinda

      Reply

  3. Brenda
    Feb 13, 2014 @ 19:55:26

    It was good

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Readings by Maria Teresa

Providing Spiritual Guidance and Messages

The Grey Papers

A Place for Creative Inspiration

Making Art

with TB Greene

ɴᴇᴡᴀɢᴇʟᴏᴠᴇ

Aʟʟ ᴀʙᴏᴜᴛ Aɴɢᴇʟs & Lɪɢʜᴛ Bᴇɪɴɢs

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

FredPhillips

My journey with Parkinson's ... a natural approach!

aisha north

Channelings and words of inspiration

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Spiritual Awakening

Life in the presence

Planet Dream Diaries

********** WELCOME ********** As someone who utilizes 3 devices to form 1 expression, for a more meaningful and deeper experience, please start the music associated to each post prior to reading. Thank You And Enjoy!

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Susanne Schuberth's Poetry

Knowing God and being known by Him

Entering the Promised Land

by walking in the Spirit

The Neighborhood

telling the story from every vantage point

Permacooking

Delicious ways to reduce food waste

