Mandatory Soul Sister Meeting Agenda: We All Can’t Be Snow White

il_570xN.394642188_ezid[1]

The story for my book was feeling tired and irrelevant, causing any writing to feel like a chore. I began to fear that I would lose interest in this writing project even though my love for it hadn’t waivered. I was feeling desperate. So I called a mandatory Soul Sister meeting to get some inspiration and hopefully not only breathe but resuscitate a plot – any plot.

Official Minutes of
Mandatory Soul Sister Meeting

Present: Amber, Heather, Jasmine, Lisa and Lorlinda.

Lorlinda opened the meeting: “Sisters I have gathered you here today because I need your help. You see, even though all of you are incredibly talented and interesting, the story has gotten boring. It’s dry. You’re holding back on me. . .”

Heather interrupted: “Boring? Holding back? I let you write about the SWAT team that came to my house.”

Lorlinda countered: “Yeah, but that was the result of wrong information, and you ended up offering them bottled water. I’m sorry Heather, that’s not a story; it’s a side note. Now listen up everyone, I understand each of you are worried about your image but we’ve got a book to write. We all can’t be Snow White; at least not all the time. We need a little witchiness, if that’s a word. Otherwise, there’s no drama. No drama, no story. As an actress Amber, you understand this; don’t you?”

Amber replied: “I only understand that an actor can’t be too careful about the role she plays. Otherwise, she’ll never get the part of Snow White.”

Lorlinda continued: “Okay. Let’s try this another way. At the beginning of this project Lisa was good enough to give me cart blanche with her character.”

Lisa admitted: “Yeah, but I didn’t expect you to take me up on it.”

Jasmine interjected: “I have a question. In the scene where my band is playing at the garden party, did somebody really call me a one hit wonder or are you making that up?”

Lorlinda complained: “See, this is exactly what I mean. We can’t be so sensitive. It’s fiction, everybody. Now, I’m going to ask each of you to be more interesting. You’re entertainers – entertain me.”

Heather proclaimed: “You want entertainment? We can give you entertainment.”

Jasmine confessed: “We were holding back because it was you we didn’t want to embarrass.”

Amber declared: “Prepare to have your mind blown.”

Lisa snickered: “The question is can you handle it?”

Lorlinda praised: “That’s my Soul Sisters. Now go out there and blow my mind.”

Motion to Blow Lorlinda’s Mind was unanimously approved.

Meeting adjourned in time for Happy Hour.

10709[1]

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ghostbusterbev
    Sep 08, 2014 @ 09:24:47

    Very creative and enjoyable read! Thanks for visiting and following my blog Lorlinda. A pleasure to meet you!

    Reply

  2. Leyla
    Aug 20, 2014 @ 20:52:50

    nice post lorlonda ❤ a big hug

    Reply

  3. Lucy
    Mar 12, 2014 @ 20:55:08

    Hi Lorlinda, I so enjoyed this post and chuckled along as I read, very familiar this as I too am (attempting) to write my very own soul story. So wonderful to meet up with you and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Lucy x

    Reply

    • lorlinda
      Mar 13, 2014 @ 08:11:18

      How exciting Lucy. I’m ecstatic to meet another person writing their soul story. We must keep in touch and cheer each other on. This journey can be treacherous and daunting, along with being joyful and whimsically intoxicating. I’m cyberly (love making up words) sending you creative energy to spark your inspiration. 😀 Lorlinda xo

      Reply

  4. jamieweilhealthcoach
    Feb 26, 2014 @ 15:53:25

    Yes. A familiar conversation to this writer of novels! I so get it. Love the way you laid it out here. What fun follows, Lorlinda! Jamie

    Reply

    • lorlinda
      Feb 27, 2014 @ 12:17:52

      Thank you Jamie for visiting my blog. I didn’t realize you were also a novel writer but not surprised. I would love to check out your books. Do you have separate website where you sell your work? Cyber love to the triple power, Lorlinda 

      Reply

      • jamieweilhealthcoach
        Mar 03, 2014 @ 12:03:44

        Hi Lorlinda! Here’s my website: http://www.jamieweil.net. If you look on published works there is an anthology that I’m in with my oldest child (published by LaChance, NY 2010) called Voices of Bipolar Disorder. You can also find that on Amazon. That was work for hire and is nonfiction, but is a fascinating 40 person first person accounts of living with a person (child, parent, lover) or living with bipolar disorder. My first novel is currently being shopped to editors in NY–fell out of acquisitions last year and hasn’t found the perfect editor yet, but it will eventually.) I’m currently working on my second. There are a number of articles (as I use to freelance) in the “library” section on my site. Do you have a website? Where are you in the writing process? It’s–for sure–a journey:) Fun getting to know you! Jamie

        Reply

        • lorlinda
          Mar 04, 2014 @ 20:07:24

          Thank you for replying Jamie. I’m working on two fiction projects (one with a partner and the other solo). Both are in the initial draft phase. I have only two websites: this one and my artist website. Currently, I’m spending more time painting than writing. I go back and forth. Best of luck to you in finding that right editor. This certainly is a journey – an up and down journey, and the reason I feel like I’m over my head. 🙂
          It’s fun getting to know you too! Hugs, Lorlinda

          Reply

  5. Professions for PEACE
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 20:29:28

    What a fun post Lorlinda! Here’s to blown minds! Hooray 😀
    Cheers, Gina xo

    Reply

    • lorlinda
      Feb 25, 2014 @ 08:03:23

      Thank you so much Gina. I had fun writing it. My characters needed shaking up. Hopefully, they understand what I need from them now. If this doesn’t work I’m going to send them over to your blog for some inspiration. (LOL)
      Cyber Hugs, Lorlinda

      Reply

  6. obzervashunal
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 08:25:57

    well done…and well said! I want more of this…

    Reply

  7. Brad O.
    Feb 22, 2014 @ 18:20:13

    Lorlinda, your blowing more than my mind!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Grey Papers

A Place for Creative Inspiration

Making Art

with TB Greene

ɴᴇᴡᴀɢᴇʟᴏᴠᴇ

Aʟʟ ᴀʙᴏᴜᴛ Aɴɢᴇʟs & Lɪɢʜᴛ Bᴇɪɴɢs

The Paths of the Spirit

Create a path of Light with your Life

FredPhillips

My journey with Parkinson's ... a natural approach!

aisha north

Channelings and words of inspiration

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Spiritual Awakening

Life in the presence

Planet Dream Diaries

********** WELCOME ********** As someone who utilizes 3 devices to form 1 expression, for a more meaningful and deeper experience, please start the music associated to each post prior to reading. Thank You And Enjoy!

Me, My Magnificent Self

My Journey To Freedom

Susanne Schuberth's Poetry

Knowing God and being known by Him

Entering the Promised Land

by walking in the Spirit

Permacooking

Delicious ways to reduce food waste

Mihran Kalaydjian's Official Blog

Trust your own instinct. Your mistakes might as well be your own, instead of someone else’s. Billy Wilder

